Removing scratches from leather

Removing scratches from my leather sofa

Removing scratches from my leather sofa

few years ago, my husband and I were on the hunt for a leather sleeper sofa but… I didn’t want to pay an arm and a leg. So I was regularly stalking checking Craigslist and finally found a great deal. A Pottery Barn leather sleeper sofa for only $185 AND they would deliver- Score! Fast forward a bit.. the sofa had a happy home in my husband’s office but when we moved, the sofa wouldn’t quite work in his new office. So it’s new home was now in the baby’s nursery/playroom. We’re crazy people right? Well, no shocker, the sofa got completely scratched up from clothing, jumping, Hot Wheels, rough housing, etc and slowly this couch started looking pretty sad.

Before-back of leather sofa scratches

Before- back of leather sofa scratches

Before- inside leather sofa arm rest

Before- inside leather sofa arm rest

Now granted, we got it for a great deal but, it’s an awesome, high quality couch and I didn’t want to let it get ruined! After searching Pinterest for ways to fix my sad leather couch, the easiest (and cheapest) solution was good ‘ol Olive oil! I headed to the kitchen, grabbed my olive oil, some lint free cloth and paper towels.

Rubbing the olive oil in circular motion. Left side has been "oiled" right side has not

Rubbing the olive oil in circular motion. Left side has been “oiled” right side has not.

Now the key is to keep rubbing it in, that way the leather soaks it all in and doesn’t leave any oily residue behind that can get on your clothes. I poured a little bit of olive oil onto my lint free cloth and rubbed in circular motions. Immediately I could see the scratches fading and the life returning to the leather. It was definitely addicting to see the warm, rich leather coming back and to see those horrible scratches disappearing. Some spots were really bad and dry.

Dry and scratched leather arm rest

Dry and scratched leather arm rest

Left side- oiled vs. Right side- untouched

Left side- oiled vs. Right side- untouched

I continued to finish the entire couch and then I wiped with paper towel all over to remove any left over oily residue (there really was none)

After- back of leather sofa

After- back of leather sofa

After- inside leather sofa arm rest

After- inside leather sofa arm rest

Now she looks, clean, rich and happy again. Let’s see how long she lasts in the playroom/nursery with my 3 busy boys!

After- my Pottery Barn leather sleeper sofa looking happy again... for now

After- my Pottery Barn leather sleeper sofa looking happy again… for now

Leave a Reply

